Skip to main content

Dr Bettina West

JMCR Research Partner (Ted Rogers School of Management, Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada)

Dr tina west 750 3 JMCR VF Dr Tina West 75e5pfi5j

Bettina (Tina) is an Associate Professor of Marketing in the Ted Rogers School of Management, Ryerson University in Toronto. She earned her DBA at Henley Business School in 2011. Her dissertation examined the moderating impact of social axioms (which are deeply-held individual beliefs) on the development of firm reputation from a stakeholder perspective. In addition to research interests in the areas of reputation and corporate social responsibility, she has also explored topics related to privacy, social media marketing and management education. As a member of Ryerson’s Privacy and Cyber Crime Institute, she has contributed to several large-scale studies on perceptions of privacy among social media users and advertisers, funded through the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada, and is currently involved in a study related to cyberbullying in the workplace. In addition, she has collaborated on projects to evaluate student mentoring programs and innovative teaching and learning formats.

Tina has taught a range of undergraduate courses, including research methods, internet marketing, service and professionalism, issues and innovations in retailing, and business ethics. She also provides supervision for Ryerson MBA students on their MRP projects. A proponent of accessible learning, Tina has developed and delivered numerous ‘alternative’ education courses for credit, including a 12-part marketing doculecture series for radio, as well as online courses in nonprofit and voluntary sector management, and marketing research that have been delivered in synchronous, asynchronous and hybrid online formats. Aside from teaching and research responsibilities, Tina has served as a reviewer for Ryerson’s Research Ethics Board, a member of the Academic Integrity Council’s appeals committee, Chair of the Marketing Department, and as an invited member of the Senate Learning and Teaching Committee.