About us

About us

International Business and Strategy, led by Professor James Walker, is one of six academic areas within Henley Business School at the University of Reading. Our faculty members are:

Professor, Head of School: Professor James Walker, B.Com Otago; MSc, PhD London School of Economics


Associate Professors

  • Dr Rita Fontinha, PhD, University of Portsmouth
  • Dr Quyen Nguyen, BA Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam; MBA United Business Institutes, Belgium; PhD Reading
  • Dr Charmi Patel, MSc Aston Business School; PhD (Management) Aston Business School
  • Dr Washika Haak-Saheem, MA in Cultural Sciences and Business Administration, University of Leuphana, Lüneburg. Germany; Phd, University of Leuphana, Lüneburg, Germany
  • Dr Min Zou, PhD, University of Oxford

Assistant Professor/Lecturers

Teaching and Research Fellows

Visiting Research Fellows

  • Dr Helena Barnard, PhD, Rutgers, State University of New Jersey
  • Dr Paloma Almodovar, PhD, Complutense University of Madrid
  • Dr Marcelo Bucheli, PhD, Stanford University
  • Dr Alvaro Cuervo-Cazurra, BBA Complutense Madrid; PhD MIT; PhD Salamanca
  • Dr Luis Alfonso Dau, BA University of San Diego; MBA School of Global Management; PhD University of South Carolina
  • Dr Stefano Elia, MSC Katholieke University; PhD Politecnico di Milano
  • Dr Ajai Gaur, PhD (Business Policy and Strategy) National University of Singapore
  • Dr Jenny Hillemann, MSc University of Antwerp; PhD (Business Economics) Vrije Universiteit Brussels
  • Dr Chang Hoon Oh, PhD, The Kelly School of Business
  • Prof María Jesús Nieto,PhD (Economics), University Carlos III of Madrid
  • Dr Björn Jindra, PhD, University of Sussex
  • Dr Liena Kano, MBA University of Calgary; PhD Haskayne School of Business
  • Dr Marcus Larsen, BA, MSc Copenhagen Business School; PhD Copenhagen Business School
  • Dr Xufei Ma, PhD, National University of Singapore; MBA, University of Saskatchewan
  • Dr Chinmay Pattnaik, PhD (Strategic Management and International Business) Seoul National University
  • Dr Alessandra Perri, MSc Luiss Guido Carli University; PhD (Management) Luiss Guido Carli University
  • Dr Vittoria Scalera, Phd, Politecnico di Milano
  • Dr Andreas Schotter, PhD (General Management) University of Western Ontario
  • Dr Nan Zhou, PhD, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
  • Dr Shubin Wu, PhD, Liaoning University, China

Visiting Fellows

Executive Fellow

Visiting Professors

For over 40 years we have stood at the forefront of teaching and research in international business. We continue to help define the research agenda in the fields of international business and international business history.

We are home to two of the world's premier research centres in international business and international business history, the John H. Dunning Centre for International Business and the Centre for International Business History (CIBH). See further information on our research.

Within International Business and Strategy, we contribute to the full range of Henley Business School's offering, including undergraduate and postgraduate Masters programmes, the world-renowned Henley MBA and its executive programmes. We also provide PhD opportunities and funding for high-quality doctoral candidates from all over the world, wanting to conduct full-time postgraduate research in International Business and Strategy.

High-quality teaching focuses on critical developments in international business and strategy and organisations' strategic response to these. See further information on our programmes and teaching.

Our current International Business and Strategy Associates are:

  • Edmund Akehurst
  • Martin Aylward
  • George Bell
  • Garry Elliot
  • Susan Geringer
  • Anne Graham
  • Mr Allan Kinross
  • Paul Ketchley
  • Christopher Lester
  • Ron Livingstone
  • Mr Peter McManners
  • Huw Morris
  • Fives Olive
  • Atonios Panagiotakopoulos
  • Jessie Pswarayi
  • Mr Igor Richter
  • Bill Ryan
  • Hanel Thorben
  • Sofia Topakas
  • Jeffrey Tyrrell

Our current International Business and Strategy PhD students are:

Irakli Barbakadze supervised by Prof Davide Castellani and Dr Stefano Elia

Jill Juergensen supervised by Prof Rajneesh Narula and Dr Irina Surdu

Fabio Lamperti supervised by Prof Davide Castellani and Prof Lucia Piscitello

Jiin Lee supervised by Dr Jongmin Lee and Prof Rajneesh Narula

Joonghak Lee supervised by Dr Rita Fontinha and Dr Jongmin Lee

Chengcheng Miao supervised by Prof Chris Brewster and Dr Chul Chung

Mads Wedellsborg supervised by Dr Peder Greve and Dr Charmi Patel

Tommaso Vallone supervised by Dr Peder Greve and Dr Stefano Elia

Rebecca Yusuf supervised Dr Rita Fontinha and Dr Washika Saheem

Sabreena Zaman supervised by Prof Rajneesh Narula