Skip to main content

Annual Awards

Bee 2 heather
Award logos

The Annual Awards are divided into three categories and are open to nominations between January and September each year.

Individuals, publishers and researchers may nominate others' work, although current Coaching Centre associates, employees and others linked to Henley are excluded. Nominations should include a published version of the book or article. Books and articles must have been published in the last 12 months.

The Henley team will review nominations and make a selection based on what they consider to be outstanding work in each category.

Nominations for 2024 will open in the new year.

This award is for a coaching book published in the previous calendar year that, in the view of the Henley Coaching team, has made a significant and positive contribution to the field.

2023 winner: A Jungian Approach to Coaching: The Theory and Practice of Turning Leaders into People - Laurence Barrett

2023 winner: Playfulness in Coaching, Exploring Our Untapped Potential Through Playfulness - Stephanie Wheeler and Teresa Leyman

2022 winner: The IDEA Mindset: Figure Out What You Want from Work, and How to Get It, in 6 Weeks - Gary Crotaz

2021 winner: The Promise that Changes Everything - Nancy Kline

2020 winner: Helping People Change: Coaching with Compassion for Lifelong Learning and Growth - Richard Boyatzis, Melvin Smith and Ellen Van Oosten

2019 winner: The Art of Dialogue in Coaching - Reinhard Stelter

2018 winner: Listening Well: The Art of Empathic Understanding - William R Miller

This award is for a coaching research paper published in the previous calendar year that, in the view of the Henley Coaching team, has made a significant and positive contribution to the field.

2023 winner: 'The systemic nature of duty of care in coaching: coach, client, customer and beyond'
- Dr Benita Mayhead

2022 winner: The Effectiveness of Workplace Coaching: a meta-analysis of contemporary psychologically informed coaching approaches
- Qing Wang, Yi-Ling Lai, Xiaobo Xu and Almuth McDowall

2021 winner: Coaching with Artificial Intelligence: Concepts and Capabilities
- Professor Dr Carsten C. Schermuly and Professor Dr Carolin Graßmann

2020 winner: Coaching of Insolvent Entrepreneurs and the Change in Coping Resources, Health and Cognitive Performance
- Carsten C. Schermuly, Dominika Wach, Clemens Kirschbaum and Jurgen Wegge

2019 winner: Assessing contracting and the coaching relationship: Necessary infrastructure?
- Hilary Gettman, Suzanne K. Edinger and Karen Wouters

2018 winner:
A systematic review of executive coaching outcomes
- Andromachi Athanasopoulou and Sue Dopson

Elaine Cox

This award is for a member of the coaching community – researcher, practitioner or thought leader – who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the development of the coaching profession, coaching research, coach training or practice.

2023 winner: Dr Elaine Cox

2022 winner: Claire Pedrick

2021 winner: Dr Terrence E. Maltbia
2020 winner: Michel Moral
2019 winner:
Jenny Rogers
2018 winner:
Professor David Megginson

(Nominations will open in the new year for 2024)

Contact us

Coaching Centre Team

For more information please contact the Coaching Centre Team:

Telephone: +44 (0)1491 418796