Skip to main content

Members and fellows

The Centre for Euro-Asian Studies has members and fellows in over a dozen countries, uniting more than 30 professors and prominent academics across the Henley Business School, the University of Reading's School of Economics and several prestigious external organisations.

The CEAS covers five major areas of research, outlined below:

The specifics of transition in Euro-Asia and the emergence of new economies in the region

(Professor Yelena Kalyuzhnova, Dr Christian Nygaard, Professor Mark Casson, Dr Irina Heim, Professor Mike Utton, Dr Olga Khotyasheva, Professor George Tridimas, Professor Richard Pomfret, Ms Marina Bakanova, Professor Natalya Ketenci, Dr Nada Massoud, Dr Rosa Sarkeyeva, Ms Aija Omarova, Professor Michael Kaser, Mr Peter Wierts, Ms Stella Tsani, Alexander Mihailov, Dr Peter Kenway, Natalya Radko, Maxim Slesarev, Daniyar Medetov, Evgeniya Pomerlyan, Olena Khlystova)

Post-transition challenges

(Professor Cristopher Waters, Professor Christoph Bluth, Dr Tatiana Rowson, Dr Anne E. Peck, Dr Jeff Hass, Ms Botagoz Kulakbayeva, Ms Manshuk Nurseitova, Ms Aija Omarova,Professor Gareth Winrow, Mr Mehmet Ögütçü)

Energy security and renewable energy

(Professor Yelena Kalyuzhnova, Dr Christian Nygaard, Mr Mehmet Ögütçü, Willy Olsen, Aaron Ahali, Anne Crowley-Vigneau, Kirsty Denyer)

Lifting the 'natural resource curse'

(Professor Yelena Kalyuzhnova, Dr Christian Nygaard, Dr Irina Heim, Professor Richard Pomfret, Dr Stella Tsani, Willy Olsen - Former Senior Advisor to the President and CEO of Statoil, Natalya Radko, Aaron Ahali, Maxim Slesarev, Daniyar Medetov, Anne Crowley-Vigneau)

Economic transformation and business enterprises

(Professor Yelena Kalyuzhnova, Dr Irina Heim, Natalya Radko, Aaron Ahali, Maxim Slesarev, Daniyar Medetov Anne Crowley-Vigneau)

Faculty from outside of Henley Business School include:

  • Dr Dominik Zaum - Deputy Director, CEAS
  • Dr Christian Nygaard - Research Fellow and Centre Coordinator, CEAS
  • Dr Christopher Waters - Senior Lecturer
  • Professor Christoph Bluth - General Editor, Euro-Asian Studies, Palgrave Series (c.bluth@leeds.ac.uk)
  • Professor Mark Casson - Professor of Economics
  • Professor Uma Kambhampati - Professor of Economics
  • Professor Mike Utton - Professor of Economics
  • Dr Anne E. Peck - Visiting Professor (apeck@onetel.net.uk)
  • Professor George Tridimas - Professor in Banking (g.tridimas@reading.ac.uk)
  • Dr Jeff Hass - Lecturer in Sociology
  • Professor Richard Pomfret - Professor in Economics (richard.pomfret@adelaide.edu.au)
  • Ms Marina Bakanova - Country Economist (mbakanova@worldbank.org)
  • Dr Natalya Ketenci - Alumni (npshevchik@hotmail.com)
  • Dr Nada Massoud - Alumni (nada_massoud@yahoo.com)
  • Dr Rosa Sarkeyeva - Alumni (r.sarkeyeva@chello.nl)
  • Ms Botagoz Kulakbayev - Alumni (botagoz.kulakbayeva@kz.britishcouncil.org)
  • Ms Manshuk Nurseitova - Alumni (man_nur@yahoo.com)
  • Ms Aija Omarova - Alumni (aijaom@yahoo.com)
  • Ms Natalya Kruchkova - Alumni
  • Professor Michael Kaser - Professor of Economics (michael.kaser@economics.oxford.ac.uk)
  • Dr Peter Kenway - Director of the New Policy Institute (peter.kenway@npi.org.uk)
  • Professor Gareth Winrow - Professor of Politics
  • Mr Mehmet Ögütçü - Honorary Fellow
  • Mr Peter Wierts - (p.j.wierts@dnb.nl)
  • Ms Stela Cani - Researcher (s.cani@reading.ac.uk)
  • Willy Olsen - Former Senior Advisor to the President and CEO of Statoil